Thursday, October 17, 2013

[Review] The Iron King - Julie Kagawa

Author: Julie Kagawa
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Published: 2010
My Rating: ★★★★

Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan's life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school . . . or at home. 

When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she's known is about to change. 

But she could never have guessed the truth--that she is the daughter of a mythical faery king and is a pawn in a deadly war. Now Meghan will learn just how far she'll go to save someone she cares about, to stop a mysterious evil no faery creature dare face . . . and to find love with a young prince who might rather see her dead than let her touch his icy heart. 

I was a teensy bit bored with the novel at first since it starts out as kind of your typical modern fairy tale: normal girl who has trouble in school ends up having to go off and save her brother from the fairies who took him and she finds out she's the daughter of a fairy king. It might be because she's female (I have a tendency to hate them, not gonna lie), but I also didn't really care for Meghan at first. Her self-pitying manner was annoying. She's poor, her parent's don't give her enough attention, and her crush is a jackass. However, once she got into the world of faery, she started to grow on me. Especially since she's trying to find her little brother and will stop at nothing to get him, even if it means carelessly indebting herself to every creature she comes across.


With the advent of technology, a new type of fairy comes into existence, one that threatens both the Summer and Winter Courts. At times, there's almost a steam-punk feel to the novel and the idea of the iron fey is what really kept me reading. That, and the amazing love triangle between Robbie, her mischievous best friend who turns out to be Robin Goodfellow (A.K.A Puck) and Prince Ash of the Winter Court, who I myself am in love with. I guess I have a thing for cold-hearted bastards who would sooner kill you than kiss you. I wonder why that is . . .

I've never read Shakespeare's A Midsummer Night's Dream, but I will have to after reading this novel just to understand the background of Titania and Oberon and the rest of the fairy courts. Especially since Robin Goodfellow is an established character in it (though I'm ashamed to say I never heard of him before). The author is also apparently a big fan of anime and manga, so I loved those references. What's more awesome is that the novel has been turned into a manga! 

Fans of Holly Black's Tithe and O.R. Melling's The Hunter's Moon and The Summer King will definitely enjoy this. I breezed right through it and I can't wait to read the next book, The Iron Daughter. 

No comments:

Post a Comment